St. Luke’s Chapel is located in the beautiful historic district of Charleston, South Carolina, at the corner of Bee Street and Ashley Avenue. This historic, non-denominational chapel serves as a hall for religious and devotional services including:
And a variety of other activities.
The chapel is available to all recognized MUSC campus organizations and individual students, faculty, and staff for specific functions. Additionally, it is also available to the general public.
Located north of Colcock Hall, the chapel was originally part of an arsenal built by the United States government between 1825 and 1832. It was later acquired in 1879 by Rev. Toomer Porter for the education of boys orphaned or impoverished during the Civil War. After that, in 1883, it was converted into a chapel and named St. Timothy.
Later, in 1965, MUSC took possession of the property and renamed the chapel to honor the biblical figure St. Luke, the physician. The organ, kneeling bench, and stained glass windows in the chapel are all celebrated works of art. The chapel serves to enrich the spiritual and cultural lives of all that visit.